The CHIP Test - Considering a career in public safety? Take the CHIP Test to see how fit you are . C.H.I.P. physical ability assessment.
Register for a Test:
For additional information on upcoming assessments, registration and the C.H.I.P. card, please contact us at (203) 235-5865.
|Date||Time||Location||Registration Deadline||Test Fee|
|September 29, 2020||6:15 AM||Central Connecticut Area||September 26, 2020||$75||Full|
|September 29, 2020||5:00 PM||Central Connecticut Area||September 27, 2020||$75||Register|
|September 30, 2020||5:30 PM||Central Connecticut Area||September 27, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 4, 2020||8:30 AM||Platt High School (Track)||October 1, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 7, 2020||6:00 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 4, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 8, 2020||8:30 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 5, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 14, 2020||8:30 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 11, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 18, 2020||8:30 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 14, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 21, 2020||8:30 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 18, 2020||$75||Register|
|October 28, 2020||8:30 AM||Central Connecticut Area||October 25, 2020||$75||Register|
|November 15, 2020||8:30 AM||To be determined||November 9, 2020||$75||Register|
What the CHIP test involves
The Physical Ability Assessment includes the following four components:
The score is the number of bent-leg sit-ups performed in one minute.
- In CT your hands are cupped over your ears. Other states require fingers to be laced behind the head. If you are testing for a state other than CT, notify us at the test so that we will adjust accordingly.
- Another candidate will hold your feet. You will instruct your partner how you want your feed held. Your partner can sit on them, kneel on them or just use their hands. This is your decision. Hips must remain on the ground. No kipping.
- Elbows will touch the top of the knees in the up position and your shoulder blades will touch the mat.
The score is the number of correct full-body push-ups performed in one minute.
- Your hands will be placed slightly wider than shoulder width apart, with fingers facing forward.
- You will wait on all fours until we give the "Set" command. You will then assume the push-up position.
- Maintain a flat back. Shoulders, back and hips must be aligned for the push up to be counted.
- On "Go" you will lower your chest until it touches the foam ball, then return to the up position, fully extending your elbows.
300 Meter Sprint
The score is the time it takes you to run a distance of 300 meters.
1.5 Mile Run
The score is the time (minutes:seconds) it takes you to complete a 1.5-mile run.
The scores you need to pass
The minimum scores for entry into the Connecticut Police Academy are listed below. The Connecticut Police Academy has reinstituted the 50% exit standard. As a result some Connecticut Law Enforcement Agency's are now requiring the 50% norms to ensure that you have the physical ability to meet the 50% norms. The 50% is slightly more difficult then the standards listed below. We encourage you to perform to the best of your ability on all four events.
Reps per minute
Reps per minute
300 Meter Run
|1.5 Mile Run
|Male 20-29||38||29||59 seconds||12:38|
|Male 30-39||35||24||59 seconds||13:04|
|Male 40-49||29||18||72 seconds||13:49|
|Male 50-59||24||13||83 seconds||15:03|
|Female 20-29||32||15||71 seconds||14:50|
|Female 30-39||25||11||79 seconds||15:38|
|Female 40-49||20||9||94 seconds||16:21|
What You Need On the Day of the Assessment
In order to participate in a Physical Ability Assessment proctored by CHIP, you must provide two forms of identification. One form of identification must be a photo ID, preferably your driver's license. If you don't have a current driver's license, you can bring one of the following:
- Government-issued photo identification
- Military photo identification
- Current passport
One other form of identification must also be presented on the day of the assessment, including:
- Work ID
- Birth certificate
- College ID
- Social Security card
- Insurance card
Medical and Waiver Forms
Both forms must be printed out. The medical approval form must be signed, stamped and dated by a MD, NP or PA. You will not be allowed to take the test without a signed medical approval form. Your waiver form will be completed and signed at the test.
Appropriate athletic attire, including athletic shoes, must be worn to the assessment. Weather conditions should be taken into consideration when dressing for the assessment as you will be outdoors during portions of the assessment.
You must bring your own water with you to the test. Candidates are not allowed to bring bags, backpacks, or digital devices to the test.
How to use the CHIP test when applying to a police department
Once you pass a CHIP Physical Ability Assessment, you'll receive certified results – a CHIP Card that is valid for six months and is accepted by all CHIP participating departments.Log In to Your Account